woman story

Glbal love famine: random hearing…a woman’s worth

Alicia Keys
A Woman’s Worth

(Verse 1)
You could buy me diamonds
You could buy me pearls
Take me on a cruise around the world
Baby, you know I’m worth it

Dinner lit by candles
Run my bubble bath
Make love tenderly to last, and last
Baby, you know I’m worth it

(Bridge)
Wanna’ please; wanna’ keep; wanna’ treat your
woman right?
Not just dough, but a show, that you know she’s
worth your time
You will lose, if you choose, to refuse to put her first
She will if she can find a man who knows her worth!
Mmmmmmmmm

(Chorus)
‘Cause a real man knows a real woman when he
sees her (when he sees her)
And a real woman knows a real man
Ain’t ‘fraid to please her (please her)
And a real woman knows a real man always
comes first (first)
And a real man just can’t deny
A woman’s worth (a woman’s worth)

Mmmmmm hmmmmm (x1), Mmmmmm hmmmmm (x1), Mmmmmm hmmmmm (x1), Mmm

(Hold up)

(Verse 2)
If you treat me fairly
I’ll give you all my goods…
Treat you like a real woman should
Baby, I know you’re worth it
If you never play me
Promise not to bluff
I’ll hold you down when shit gets rough
‘Cause baby, I know you’re worth it

(Bridge 2)
She rolls the mile; makes you smile, all the while
being true
Don’t take for granted the passions that she has
for you
You will lose, if you choose, to refuse to put her first
She will if she can find a man who knows
her worth!
…OH!

(Chorus)
‘Cause a real man knows a real woman when he
sees her (when he sees her)
And a real woman knows a real man
Ain’t ‘fraid to please her (please me)
And a real woman knows a real man always
comes first (first, baby)
And a real man just can’t deny
A woman’s worth

[Breakdown]
No need to read between the lines
Spell it out for you (spell it out for you)
Just hear this song
‘Cause you can’t go wrong when you value(Better value…)
A woman’s, woman’s, woman’s, woman’s Worth! (yeah)

[Chorus (x2)]
‘Cause a real man knows a real woman when he
sees her (when he sees her[1st time]) (nothin’ like a woman’s worth [2nd time])
And a real woman knows a real man
Ain’t ‘fraid to please her (please me [1st time]) (ohhh, ooh [2nd time])
And a real woman knows a real man always
comes first (first, baby [1st time]) (comes first [2nd time])
And a real man just can’t deny
A woman’s worth (a woman’s worth)

Mmmmn hmmn (x1)

Dooooh

Mmmn hmmn (x1)

Suba duba do’h do’h

Mmmn hmmn (x1)

doodle dee doodle dee

Mmmmn hmmn (x1)

Oohh

Mhmn hmmn (x1)

Better Cherish that woman

Mhmn hmmn (x1)

You better be good for that woman

Mhmn hmmn (x1), Mmmn hmmn (x1)

Ooooh yeah

______________________________________”A Woman’s Worth” is a song by American singer–songwriter Alicia Keys. A piano-driven soul ballad with elements of contemporary R&B and neo soul, it was written by herself and musician Erika Rose and produced by Keys for her debut album, Songs in A Minor (2001).

Erika Rose is an American musician. She co-wrote Alicia Keys’s song “A Woman’s Worth”, released in 2002, which reached number seven on the Billboard Hot 100.

Erika-Rose-and-Alicia-Keys
Erika-Rose-and-Alicia-Keys

alicia-keysAlicia Keys

Random excerpts from interviews:

Keys wrote her first song at 13 when she was coming to terms with the death of her grandfather. Her debut album, ‘Songs in A Minor’ , released when she was 20, was one of the best-selling debut albums ever, shifting more than 12 million copies worldwide. She has continued to be relentlessly successful, picking up 12 Grammy Awards over four albums; and the track she made with Jay-Z, Empire State of Mind, is probably the most played single of the past year.

But, she says, ‘I never think I’ve reached that pinnacle, so to speak, but I do feel satisfied with what I’ve achieved, so I don’t feel this endless need, “I’ve got to get there, I’ve got to get there.” ’

And what’s that been replaced with? ‘I’ve got to get peace. I have to be peaceful and I have to be happy.’

What does make her happy? ‘I don’t have a ton of friends but the friends I have are great ones. I don’t have huge family but the family I have is a great one. I have solid decent people around me and I believe that is all it is, because you will get destroyed if you have people bringing you down.’

It was very difficult to be honest with myself,’ she continues, ‘because I was “I am steel, nothing hurts me, I’m impenetrable, nothing can touch me” , but I’m over that now.’

Keys has been involved with Keep a Child Alive since 2002. The September 11 attacks prompted her to think about problems in the world; in particular, she says, ‘I wanted to know what was going on in Africa. I went to Africa to do a performance and I was so ecstatic to be known there. Then I met people my age who are dealing with hell, and I thought I can do something here, I want to do something special.’

What Keys says about being a mom-to-be:

I love children and I love family and I love that interaction. Because I had a really close relationship with my mother I understand that deep powerful love, and it’s so beautiful. To be a mother to a child is the most brilliant gift, it’s gorgeous.

She commented to me earlier, ‘I think sometimes we confuse success with happiness,’ but Keys has always wanted this kind of success – success is what gets you appreciated. Success has come from being strong and in control. Throughout her teenage years she would carry a knife on the streets of Hell’s Kitchen, New York, where she grew up, to help her feel that she didn’t need anybody.

She was brought up by her mother, Terri Augello, a part Italian, part English, part Scottish actress who also worked long hours as a paralegal, often until midnight. It harnessed Keys’ self-sufficiency. Her African-American father, Craig Cook, was a flight attendant turned masseur. Her parents were never married and never lived together, but their relationship was amicable. Cook’s parents called Augello their ‘daughter-in-love’ . But Keys’ contact with her father was minimal until recently.

I wonder if that is what created the emotional reticence that appears now to be dissolving. ‘I would say that in the process of growing you sometimes realise you hold on to anger. I was angry then and I’m sure I had the right to be angry, but if you hold on to all this anger the only person you’re hurting is you.’ How did she give up the anger? ‘It came from my grandmother being ill. That was his mother and it caused a shift in the family dynamic.’ She was incredibly close to her grandmother and was with her when she died, in 2006….

Read on>>>>http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/rockandpopfeatures/7881342/Alicia-Keys-interview.html

alicia keys campaigned to educate women on HIVeducate women against HIV

 

Share your thoughts here...

